Live at Sin-e (Legacy Edition)
CD/DVD, 2003, 5122573
Disc 1:
01. Be My Husband
02. Lover, You Should've Come Over
03. Mojo Pin
04. (Monologue - Duane Eddy, Songs For Lovers)
05. Grace
06. (Monologue - Reverb, The Doors)
07. Strange Fruit
08. Night Flight
09. If You Knew
10. (Monologue - Fabulous Time For A Guinness)
11. Unforgiven (Last Goodbye)
12. Twelfth of Never
13. (Monologue - Cafe Days)
14. (Monologue - Eternal Life)
15. Eternal Life
16. Just Like a Woman
17. (Monologue - False Start, Apology, Miles Davis)
18. Calling You

Disc 2:
01. (Monologue - Nusrat, He's My Elvis)
02. Yeh Jo Halka Halka Saroor Hai
03. (Monologue - I'm A Ridiculous Person)
04. If You See Her, Say Hello
05. (Monologue - Matt Dillon, Hollies, Classic Rock Radio)
06. Dink's Song
07. (Monologue - Musical Chairs)
08. Drown In My Own Tears
09. (Monologue - The Suckiest Water)
10. The Way Young Lovers Do
11. (Monologue - Walk Through Walls)
12. Je N'en Connais Pas La Fin
13. I Shall Be Released
14. Sweet Thing
15. (Monologue - Good Night Bill)
16. Hallelujah

Disc 3:
01. (Interview)
02. The Way Young Lovers Do
03. Kick Out The Jams
04. New Year's Prayer
"Buckley signed with Columbia at the end of 1992 due in large part, he says, to his personal connection with A&R man Steve Berkowitz, a long-haired hipster whose shank of chin hair makes him look like an Egyptian pharaoh and whose love of blues and R&B manifested itself in his weekend gigs as guitarist "T. Blade." Berkowitz advised a slow build for Buckley, doing everything possible to avoid hype. They rejected offers of interviews with fashion magazines and photos for the Gap, and determined to take the pressure off the first album by preceding it with an EP recorded live and solo at Cafe Sin-e.

The four-song EP was recorded in a marathon set at Sin-e last August. Andy Wallace, who had mixed Soul Asylum, Guns N' Roses and Nirvana was brought in to produce. The recording gear was set up in a small pub two doors down. During Jeff's set the Sin-e regulars were joined by top brass from Columbia/Sony. Jeff, who seemed to be in an exceptionally light-hearted mood, played just about every song in his eclectic repertoire.

The three hour-plus set provided plenty of examples of the lessons Jeff had learned about including the audience in his show. A couple of hours along, a bag lady wandered in and stood staring at Jeff, who began singing to her (to the tune of the old Hollies hit, "Long Cool Woman"), "She was a short black woman." She took offense and started squawking at him. Jeff noted that her squawks sounded like Howlin' Wolf and sang Wolf licks back at her in a bizarre Howlin'/hecklin' duet. When a waitress quieted her down, someone else yelled out a request for something by Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan. If it was a dare, they picked the wrong boy. Buckley is a big fan of the Pakistani singer and launched into a monologue about his hero, as well as a generous sampling of Nusrat's music. At this point a few of the Sony execs began peeling the labels off their beer bottles and staring at their watches, but there was a good hour left to go. During that night's version of Astral Weeks' "The Way Young Lovers Do," Jeff surprised everyone by launching into a scat-solo. He'd never done it before, but the tape caught it and the song made the final EP selection. (Buckley was relieved when it proved too eccentrically played and sung to be edited down.)

Jeff played and played, the tapes next door rolled and rolled. Perhaps aware that some of the record execs were there because they had to be, Buckley began strumming "The End" by the Doors and reciting, "'Jeff?' 'Yes, Sony?' 'We want to fffff-fgggg you!' 'Wo! Ugh!'" The Sony bigwigs smiled. By the end of the night Buckley, Berkowitz and Wallace knew they had plenty of good material from which to pull four songs. Everyone felt great, although when one bystander joked to Buckley that he had just given Sony a couple of boxed sets worth of music to stick in their vaults, Berkowitz stopped smiling long enough to warn the big-mouth, "Don't tell him that." " (excerpt from the article 'The Arrival of Jeff Buckley: A Talented Young Musician Learns to Navigate the Record Business While Protecting His Music', Bill Flanagan, Musician, February 1994, p97-101)